Skip to content

B is for Birthday

August 18, 2005


When I was 5 (maybe 6) I loved Cookie Monster so hard. Loved loved loved him. For my birthday that year I told my mom I wanted a cookie monster cake. (Quite out of character for me, as I am totally a Duncan Hines kinda girl, not so much into the bakery versions, so you can really imagine the love here). Now this was a while back….back before they had the fab-u-lous, over-the-top, freakin’ awesome, any-obsession-you-can-think-of cakes they do now–like the one above. So, being the good mommy she is, she went to the bakery and told them that she wanted a cookie monster cake. A what? A cake that looks like cookie monster, for my oh-so-precious daughter (and yes, I am sure she used those words). I think what we ended up with was not a sheet cake with an expertly done cookie monster drawn in icing, but rather a large blob of purple frosting sitting atop a cake. I wish I had a picture…but I remember it being tall (which is relative considering I was five) and shaggy and not nearly as cute as the one I found on google last night, pictured above and slightly modified.
So bring on the birthday cake. Or cookies. Or coffee*. Ok, treats…we’ll go with birthday treats…whatever…just bring ’em.

*In the spirit of full disclosure, I have totally already received birthday coffee in the form of a venti skim latte (that came with it’s own Starbuck’s card!) from my friend and super cool coworker D-Mac.

UPDATE: 4:40 p.m.
At this time I have also received a brownie (again, thank you D’Mac) and an entire birthday cake that my friend Rach made for me. So keep it coming folks…all I need now is cookies! Oooh and ice cream…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2005 10:12 am

    Happy Birthday Marsh!!!! I told the girls this morning it was your bday and they said they want to come over and have a party with you tonight!! I thought that might bring a smile to you, told me I could drop them off to party with you. So, I am sure they will be calling later.

    Have a wonderful day!

  2. August 18, 2005 10:22 am

    Happy Happy Birthday,
    On this your special Day,
    Happy Happy Birthday,
    That’s all we’re here to say, HEY!!!!!!
    Happy Happy Birthday,
    May alllllllllllllll your dreeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaamsssssss come true,
    Happy Happy Birthday from Bennigan’s to you! HEYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!

    Do you guys remember how much we LOVED singing that song when we worked there? Wow, we were so easily entertained. Not that much has changed. 😛

    Happy Birf’day Mish. Hope your day is incredible and nothing short of the bestest ever!

    PS – Can I have a peice of the cake?

  3. August 18, 2005 10:33 am

    Could you help me with the English translation in my blog?

  4. August 18, 2005 10:55 am

    Feliz cumpleanos a mi?

  5. August 18, 2005 11:05 am

    Harmony! Thanks thanks thanks! Haven’t talked to you in forevah! I will so party with those girls – they like vodka right? KIDDING! Oh tell them to please call me, I will love it! I am having game night at my place on Saturday — not for kids, but for all adults that can come.

    Cluss – I so clapped along with the song…I love that Bennigan’s still wishes me happy birthday! I used to like it when only the girls would sing it or only the boys. It sounded so cool that way. And, um, YES you can have some cake…especially these e-cakes. They go down so easy 🙂

  6. August 18, 2005 11:34 am

    I need e-cakes, you think they will satisfy me the same as the cakes I seem to stuff my face with alllllll the time(mostly at night) hee hee

  7. August 18, 2005 11:36 am

    Oh and before I forget, girls have requested you make their bday cakes this year too!!! Not sure what your schedule looks like in Nov., but I am giving you LOTS and LOTS of notice. 🙂

    Have a very happy, stress free, anger-free, stupid people free birthday, nothing but positive vibes coming your way

  8. August 18, 2005 4:30 pm

    OOOoh. I like baking cakes. I like decorating them too. I will be in Chicago as of the 5th or 6th…maybe even the 4th. When’s the party? Wonder if they would keep?

  9. August 19, 2005 6:26 pm

    that cake looks like a cake made of frosting. I love it

Leave a Reply

