Skip to content

Ok, input people…input

August 17, 2005

Got a call this morning at work. Someone asking about exhibit space. This is totally normal (as this is what I do). So his company is local and they do this and he wants to know about the attendees for the Chicago tradeshow and if the space sold out and … 20 minutes later I am still answering questions. Again, this is normal…especially for a new exhibitor that has never been to one of our conferences. So then he asks if I am sick and I am immediately embarrassed b/c I totally have the sniffles so bad right now — but it’s A/C sniffles — and I didn’t even realize that I had been all stuffy and sniffly on the phone with a potential exhibitor. So I tell him no, I am not sick it’s just some allergies or the air conditioning or something…sorry! He says no problem, I was just feeling sorry for you. More questions.

Exhibitor guy (EG): You guys are based here too?
Me: Uh huh, we are in DC.
EG: We’re in McLean, right across from Tysons II
Me: (bubbliness comes out…for three reasons: 1. We never have local exhibitors, they are always foreign, based in Chicago or NY. 2. I was JUST talking about Tysons II and 3. I am still embarrassed about being all snotty on the phone–literally) Oh cool, we are totally trying to do a happy hour at PF Changs next week!
EG: Oh Changs? Cool. How old are you?
Me:
Me: Uh…er…old?

EG: Really? You don’t sound…
Me: (now babbling b/c this is business and weird and huh?) Well old, it’s almost my birthday I’ll be 32.
EG: Oh so are you going to Changs for your birthday?
Me: Oh no, this spot called Palette downtown. Looks pretty nice. Very chi-chi, but it’s my birthday and I can do that.
EG: Nice! Have you been to Mate? (sounds like mah-Tay)
Me: Nope
EG: It’s getting a good buzz. It’s in G’town, near Sequoia’s
Me: On the waterfront?
EG: No under the bridge
Me: Ah, on the Chadwick’s side
EG: Maybe try it sometime. But thanks, you’ve been so helpful. If we have more questions…
Me: Just call or email me. L (the sales person) will be out of town until Monday.
EG: Thanks. Oh, have a good birthday!
Me: Thanks!

5 minutes later I get this:

What do I do?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Rich permalink
    August 17, 2005 11:40 am

    Who the fuck does this happen to?!

    Ask him to send you a recent photo, and references first.

  2. August 17, 2005 12:04 pm

    Rich! Hi! Apparently I sound damned cute over the phone? But seriously, I can’t ignore him b/c he is a legitimate client. I don’t know what to say! Wanna run interference for me?

  3. August 17, 2005 3:06 pm

    Like the blog, fellow Vikings fan. After I read your last post, I smirked & shook my head, and then the next thing that popped in my head was Holden’s letter to Justine in “The Good Girl” where he goes:

    “If, for some reason, you could change your mind and wanna be with me body and soul, meet me after work. I will be waiting for you at 5pm outside Chuck E. Cheese. If you are not there at five you will never see me again in your lifetime.”

    Approach this the same way Nancy Reagan told kids to approach drugs – just politely decline.

  4. August 17, 2005 3:12 pm

    OK, after much thought, I say go ahead and meet EG. He wants to buy you drinks.

    If he starts to act strange, you have two options: a) “I have a girlfriend/boyfriend,” then start making out with someone else who is not EG, or b) “Our office has a policy of us not getting involved with exhibitors, so unfortunately I can only accept free drinks from you and not get otherwise involved at this time.”

    But then again, I recently managed to enrage an arsonist stalker who threatened to burn down my apartment. I don’t mind so much because it would save on moving costs, but obviously I am a poor judge of when to talk to strangers.

  5. August 17, 2005 3:18 pm

    My paranoia radar is coming out and I say “uh, no thank you. See you at the conference!”

  6. August 17, 2005 4:10 pm

    Travis – Am so fired up for football right now, I’ve heard of the NoVA VIkings club..but never checked it out. Crystal City Sports Pub, jes? And I have a hard time just blurting out “no!”

    Meg – The arsonist was totally innocent! But I like you making out idea.

    Clussy – Didn’t you just admit that your paranoia radar comes out A LOT?

    Anyway, I emailed him and said we may me headed there (changs) or some other place…won’t know ’til last minute…thank you…blah…buh bye. Hopefully he won’t press the issue?

  7. August 17, 2005 4:54 pm

    Yes but especially when it comes to men who are ‘strangers’. I still don’t talk to strangers. heh.

    Good job on the ‘buy-bye and thank you’.

  8. August 17, 2005 4:55 pm

    btw, “we may me”?

  9. August 17, 2005 5:02 pm

    I saw that after I hit publish…er…pshaw! It’s almost my birfday. Tomorrow (and today apparently) is a grammar-free zone! Yipee!

    Above should say:
    “Anyway, I emailed him and said we may BE headed there”

  10. August 17, 2005 5:03 pm

    Am I the only one that thinks “paranoia radar comes out” is funny?

  11. August 17, 2005 5:07 pm

    Marci….this is too weird.

    I would definitely politely decline. It’ll be easy. You can honestly say that some people are coming into town and so the location has changed and you’ll be otherwise engaged to entertain.

  12. August 17, 2005 5:51 pm

    That is weird but that kinda happens alot around here. Is he new to the area or something?

    I’ve been ok with clients and co-workers I’ve never met but only corresponded with, meet me and my buddies at bars but only if it’s a large group. It’s always been interesting. The down side is, depending on the client we’ve had to keep our pollution level low. 😐

  13. August 17, 2005 7:01 pm

    I totally tried not to correct, really I did. And then my fingers spazzed out on the keyboard and had a mind of thier own.

    You may me having a great day tomorrow though, yes?

    PS – you are the only one. heh. 😉

  14. August 18, 2005 5:37 am

    I’m not a big fan of mixing business and alcohol. In my experience, it has NEVER turned out well!! And it usually adds a bit of stuffiness to an evening out with friends…puts everyone a little on edge, no?

    Happy Birthday BabyB!!

  15. August 18, 2005 8:43 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY BABY B!!!!

    B-A-N-A-N-A-S! w00t!!!

  16. August 18, 2005 10:15 am

    Well no return email from creepy EG. So yay! And double yay on the birthday!

    Thanks so much for the birthday wishes everyone!!!! Bring on the cake!

  17. August 18, 2005 5:56 pm

    First off, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Secondly, they meet for game days at Stars and Stripes in Crystal City. The yahoo group is at http://sports.groups.yahoo.com/group/novavikes/

    I didn’t go last year, but I went a couple times the year before and had a great time in a room packed with purple jerseys.

Leave a Reply

