Skip to content

Update

August 1, 2005

A comment on last Fridays post from Big-n-Sexy Black Goddess has prompted me to update everyone on how my plan for this past weekend worked out.

If you remember, my original plan was to “Booze, flirt, booze, sleep, run, lift, eat, booze, sleep, skate my way into forgetting [the crappy attitudes that make up my place of employment].”

Let’s break it down:
Booze, flirt, booze, sleep – This portion was to be Friday night.
Boozing. It did happen, albeit in a totally responsible and moderate way. Bug and I tried to head to the Penn Quarter to do a little bar hopping. A little Zaytina (yum, lemon martinis!), Chophouse, maybe Fado or Gordon Biersch. No. Didn’t happen. Total “mid” convention happening. Mid-west, middle-aged women in mid-calf pants. Everywhere. Not exactly the crowd for flirtatious boozing. (Bug, I looked it up, it was the Women of Faith, Extraordinary Faith Conference 2005. Hmph.). So we decided to try a spot we had not been, Tallulah of Arlington. Nice decor; great menu; cute, married bartender. Which brings me to the second part of my plan:
Flirting. Non-existent. Well, at least pointless. Bartender, cute. Yum. 🙂 Ring. Damn.
More boozing. Like I said. Moderate. 2 drinks each and home we were. God, we’re boring (but pretty!?!)
Sleep. Now this, this I did like a champ! So much sleep, slept through my alarm the next day…which leads me to….

Run, lift, eat, booze, sleep – This was the Saturday part of the equation.
Run. Well, the sleeping went so well that I did not wake for my morning run alarm. And who am I to mess with a good thing? So I kept on sleeping all day long.
Lift. Had totally wanted to get a good, long weight lifting session in. But with all the sleeping and the non-running (usually a pumper-upper for me) it just wasn’t happening. And I was ok with it. (weird.)
Booze. Had decided earlier in the week that I wanted to make the weekend a nice social adventure. Yeah. ZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.
Sleep. Now, here’s something I am good at. I couldn’t even stay up for SNL. And I had slept/lazed all day? To my credit though, I did have to get up early for a long skate the next morning so….

Skate – Sunday’s portion.
Woke at 7:15 am to head to Bug’s house so we could trek all the way to Sterling to do an 18 mile skate on the W&OD Trail with the inline skating group. So far so good. Even called the Bug to make sure she was up. Should be at her house by 7:45ish to get to BFE by 8:30. Arrive at Bug’s house 8:01. WTF? I was ready, dressed, awake and fed. How did this happen?

However, we proceed. Ditching our normal behavior of avoiding a situation due to tardiness, we decide to just show up late. How grown-up of us. As I re-tell my Saturday sofa stories to Bug we realize that we have overshot our exit by a good 15 miles. Well, we are assuming this since we weren’t exactly sure where we were going. Turning around, we recognize how groggy we are. Caffeine would help. Oh, look over there….Caribou Coffee. Mmmmmm, Turtle Mocha. 2 large with too many modifications to type here please. Oh, you know what? I’m a bit hungry. Hmm. Me too. Hmmm. OOhh look —> it’s the Sunday Post. Nice. Let’s read. Oh! And get food!?!. Right! At Panera. Let’s sip coffee, have breakfast and read the paper for the next two hours and while we’re here we’ll make the most out of our trek by stopping at the Leesburg Outlets. Yes. This what I meant to plan.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2005 7:34 pm

    Hell Yeah, bitches! I wuz there.

    Sorry. don’t know what has gotten into me. But we bought some clothes and I saw a movie and we had dinner with my mum. I liked that. It was a good day.

  2. August 1, 2005 10:33 pm

    Man…I left a totally awesome comment (not really) and blogspot lost it. Bastards.

    I work near that trail btw. One of these days I should probably run it, well, part of it at least…..it’s freakin long.

  3. August 2, 2005 5:30 am

    Sometimes you just need to say screw it and spend a weekend doing just what you described! Well, maybe a little more often than ‘sometimes’ 😉 Sounds heavenly!

  4. August 2, 2005 9:55 am

    Buggie – HAHA! Whitey McHonky just said “Hell Yeah, bitches…”. I heart yer Mama.

    MG – I totally got your original comment in my email. Veird. You’re right, it wasn’t that great. 🙂 AND W&OD is a long ass trail. It’s pretty hilly out there so if you run it, do it on a strong day.

    Bekkah – SCREW IT! You’re right too. It was a lovely weekend Damn, ya’ll is smart.

  5. Anonymous permalink
    August 4, 2005 7:21 am

    Obviously just catching up on the blog. Damn, u writes good, Marci. Sunday sounds like the absolute perfect day. xxxoo

    Jen–>

Leave a Reply

